09814315346 , 9878000346

Official Number


Contact Us

288, Kashmir Avenue, Amritsar, Punjab.

Find Campus

Home / Blogs / Provinces of CANADA : – An Overview

Provinces of CANADA : – An Overview

Canada is a country which lies in the continent of North America. This country has ten provinces and three territories extending from the Atlantic to the Pacific and northward into the Arctic Ocean, covering 9.98 million square kilometers (3.85 million square miles), making it the world’s second-largest country by total area in the whole world. Its southern and western border with the United States, stretching 8,891 kilometers (5,525 mi), is the world’s longest bi-national land border. Canada’s capital is Ottawa, and its three largest metropolitan areas are Toronto, Montreal, and Vancouver.

At the present, Canada has ten (10) provinces and three (3) territories as already stated. The major difference between a Canadian province and a territory is that provinces receive their power and authority from the Constitution Act, 1867 (formerly called The British North America Act, 1867), whereas territorial governments are creatures of statute with powers delegated to them by the Parliament of Canada. The name of all the provinces is in alphabetical order: Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, and Saskatchewan while three territories are Northwest Territories, Nunavut, and Yukon.

The first major province which will be discussed is ONTARIO. Toronto is both the capital and largest city of this province. This province has the highest rate of population as compared to other. The official language spoken here is ENGLISH. Here are some facts about “THE LAND OF WATER” or simply ONTARIO.

  • Ontario’s more than 250,000 lakes contain about one-fifth of the world’s fresh water. That’s quite huge!!!!!
  • In summer, temperatures can soar above 30°C (86°F), while in winter they can drop below -40°C (-40°F).
  • Ontario’s industries range from cultivating crops, to mining minerals, to manufacturing automobiles, to designing software and leading-edge technology, possibly every sector exist here.
  • Cultures from around the world thrive here and are celebrated in Ontario with festivals such as Caribbean Carnival, Oktoberfest and the Canadian Aboriginal Festival etc.
  • Travelers can enjoy the many experiences Ontario has to offer, from a wilderness expedition in the north, to a “shop till you drop into your theatre seat” city excursion.

The second major province is ALBERTA. The capital of this province is Edmonton and the largest city is Calgary. Population count of this province is roughly 4.4 million and English is the official language here.

Some fun facts of Alberta are:-

  1. The phrase “trick or treat” first began in Alberta.
  2. The world’s longest beaver dam is here and measures 850 meters long.
  3. Alberta has been named after Queen Victoria’s daughter, Princess LOUISA CAROLINE ALBERTA, the duchess of Argyll.
  4. Banff National park in Alberta’s Rocky Mountains is Canada’s oldest national park, established in 1885 and also one of the most-visited national parks in all of North America.
  5. The purest oil discovery in Canada was made in 1914 at Turner Valley, located here in Alberta.

The third province is QUEBEC. The Quebec City is the capital of this province and Montreal being the largest city. The official language spoken here is FRENCH. The population here is second highest nearly 8.5 million and is largest state among others covering 1.3 millions km2

  Some key points to know about QUEBEC:-

  1. Quebec City is the only walled city north of Mexico. It has 4.6 kilometers of walls.
  2. French Dominated Province – Only about 1.5% of the population speaks English. Over 95% of the

Population is French speaking. But more than a third of the population can speak both English and French.

  • The Quebec City’s main event is QUEBEC winter carnival which takes place every year in February and the design of ice hotel changes every year.
  • The Chateau Frontenac is the world’s most photographed hotel which is located in this province.
  • Two other official Quebec symbols are the Snowy Owl and the Golden Birch.

 So guys this is it!! Hoping that you will like our latest blog on Provinces in Canada.

For further information, you can call us at +91 9814315346 or WhatsApp us at https://bit.ly/3z1c89J or can visit our branches in Amritsar, Ludhiana and Chandigarh.

Link to our social media accounts are: – Facebook : https://bit.ly/2RXTNJQ

YouTube : https://bit.ly/3yLq7QJ

Instagram: – https://bit.ly/3c19VBp

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Previous Post


    Next Post

    PTE v/s IELTS v/s TOEFL